Asian Glazed Salmon with Roasted Carrots

Wrap It Up – Asian Honey Salmon Baked in Foil

I have to confess,  I am a fish-o-holic!  I love it and I could (and often do) eat it every day.  I know not everyone shares my passion for fish, but for those of you that do, I have a delicious recipe to share with you today. And for those of you that think you don’t like fish, I urge you to give this a try – you may be surprised and find yourself in a never-ending love affair.

It is quick and easy – great for busy weeknights when you want to put a delicious and healthy meal on the table.  The star of this show is my Asian honey marinade and I use if for more than just my fish. Not only is it great on fish, it is also a great marinade for roasted veggies and even as a dressing for salad!  It is truly one of my great work horses and I use it often.  I always have a batch ready to go at all times.

The recipe I am sharing with you today features salmon glazed with my delicious marinade.  For this particular recipe, I have chosen to wrap the salmon in foil before baking since the end result is a tender, flaky and juicy piece of fish… steamed to perfection in its marinade bath.  None of that dried out, tough-as-shoe-leather piece of fish here!  And as I said before, it is quick and easy and ever so delicious.

Asian Marinated Salmon
Asian Honey Marinated Salmon

 

So let’s get started!

For The Marinade:

Ingredients:
1/4 c honey
2 tbs rice vinegar
2 tbs olive oil
2 tbs soy sauce
1 tsp fish sauce (optional, but very tasty)
1 tsp sesame seeds, toasted
1 tsp sesame oil
1/2 tsp garlic, minced
1/2 tsp ginger, minced
1/4 tsp lemon juice
1/8 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
1 green onion, thinly sliced – green and white parts
4 – 6 oz. salmon fillets or your favorite firm-fleshed fish

In a small bowl combine all ingredients through to the salmon and whisk vigorously until blended.  (To make things even easier – grab a small empty glass jar, add all the ingredients, and shake, shake, shake – you now have it all set and ready to go – just pop in the fridge and bring it out when you are ready to use it).

Transfer the marinade and the salmon to a bowl or zip-lock bag and allow the fish to marinade for 30 minutes, turning the fish one or twice.

Pre-heat the oven to 400 deg. and create four (4) individual foil “boats” to place the salmon in, making sure to have large enough pieces of foil to completely cover the salmon (and the roast veggies if you are also preparing them).  Place each of these packets onto a large,  heavy-duty cookie sheet and remove each piece of salmon from the marinade and place onto the foil.  Drizzle each piece equally with the remaining marinade.  Place in the pre-heated oven and bake for 25 minutes or until fish is tender and flakes easily with a fork.  Serve with roasted veggies and rice or couscous for a delicious meal.

Asian Glazed Salmon with Roasted Carrots
Asian Honey Salmon with Roasted Carrots

As you can see in the photograph above, I also roasted some carrots to go along with the salmon.  And, yes, I used the same marinade for the veggies as I did for the salmon.  I told you this marinade is versatile!

If you wish to also roast some veggies, simply double the marinade and choose your favorite veggies – carrots, parsnips, tomatoes, broccoli, and squash are all great choices.    Simply rub your choice of veggies with the marinade and place on a foil lined baking sheet and bake in a 425 deg . oven approximately 25 minutes – until just tender and browned, stirring and flipping the veggies once during the roasting.  Remove from the baking sheet and place into the foil packets along with the salmon.  Enclose the packets and bake as directed above for the salmon.

This is truly one of my favorite meals and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.  And if you aren’t that crazy for the taste of salmon, you can easily substitute your favorite firm-fleshed fish.

 

Let's Get Talking! Share Your Thoughts Here...

